Uncategorized

Books I’m Looking Forward to- 2017

I had so much fun researching this post! I could spend hours pouring through 2017 releases. I actually have picked 15 books for my list of exciting upcoming releases for 2017. I won’t go into too much detail about any of them, but I will tell you why I am excited for them, and sort them by genre. You can click on any of the titles and it will take you to the Goodreads page with synopses in a new tab!

Young Adult Fiction

25613472

 

 

A List of Cages by Robin Roe– January 10; I have been hearing great things about this book for MONTHS. You can watch a great spoiler-free review of this book here, which is actually where I learned about this book. This is a new YA release about two boys who used to be foster brothers, but who end up finding each other again and rekindling their friendship.

 

 

25014114

 

 

History is all You Left Me by Adam Silvera– January 17; This is a young adult contemporary novel about a boy whose ex-boyfriend dies in a tragic accident. I haven’t read a book like this in a long time, but the author, Adam Silvera, has a Youtube channel I have stumbled upon recently and I’m excited to read his upcoming novel.

 

 

Fiction

29657546

 

 

The Gringo Champion by Aura Xilonen, translated by Andrea Rosenberg– January 17; This is a book about an illegal immigrant and his life in Mexico and America. It was originally published in Mexico when the author was 19 years old, and is being published as an English translation next month.

 

 

30304221

 

 

Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller– February 7; This was one of the Book of the Month club picks this month. It was an early release just for the club. I really am not even sure what it’s about, but I trust BoTM and I generally add everything they select to my TBR.

 

 

29906980

 

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders– February 14; This would be a fantastic Valentine’s Day present for me, ladies and gentlemen. After stumbling upon this synopsis, I think it might be my most anticipated read of 2017. It is a novel about Abraham Lincoln visiting his deceased son’s gravesite, and it apparently told in the perspectives of the different ghosts that observe him there.

 

 

31349579

 

 

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo– March 2; This is a story that takes place in the 1980’s in Nigeria. I have been looking for fiction taking place in Nigeria since finishing and adoring Americanah by Chimamanda Ngoze Adichie. This is a debut novel.

 

 

30653956

 

 

No One is Coming to Save Us by Stephanie Powell Watts– April 4; This is actually a Gatsby retelling about an extended African-American family in the contemporary South. That’s all I needed to hear.

 

 

 

32283423

 

 

American War by Omar El Akkad– April 4; This is a new dystopian novel that centers around a second American civil war in the year 2074. I am more than intrigued.

 

 

 

33151805

 

 

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins– May 2; This is the follow up thriller to Hawkins’ Girl on the Train, which I read for a book club this past year and really enjoyed.

 

 

 

30962053

 

 

The Idiot by Elif Batuman– May 14; This is a story set in the 1990’s about a Turkish immigrant attending Harvard. I love college stories, I love stories about immigration, and I’ve heard amazing things about this one.

 

 

 

31945100

 

 

Stephen Florida by Gabe Habash– June 13; I actually don’t know much about this one. It’s billed as a coming-of-age story about a college wrestler, and is described as “manic,” “obsessive,” and “dark.”

 

 

 

Nonfiction

30644520

 

 

Difficult Women by Roxane Gay– January 3; This is a new series of stories about women from different walks of life by the author of Bad Feminist. I have heard a million great things about this one!

 

 

 

32737245

 

 

Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me by Lily Collins– March 9; This is a memoir by one of my favorite actresses, and I am very excited to read it! This was actually my first anticipated book for 2017.

 

 

 

30971731

 

This is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare by Gabourey Sidibe– May 1; This is a memoir by the actress who starred in the movie Precious. I love a great memoir, and am super excited for this one!

 

31934541

 

 

The H Spot: The Feminist Pursuit of Happiness by Jill Filipovic– May 2; I’m not going to lie to you, the title alone made me add this book to my TBR. I believe that Filipovic argues in her book that women have trouble finding happiness because the system we live in has never made women’s happiness a priority. I’m excited for this one.

 

 

I had so much fun writing this! I hope you find some new books to read in 2017.screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-07-11-am

2 thoughts on “Books I’m Looking Forward to- 2017

Leave a Reply

