TBR

My (Ambitious) January TBR!

I have a list of five books I want to read this month, hopefully before I head back to school on the 16th. It’s a bit ambitious, but I read quite a bit over the last two weeks so I’m confident I’ll get through at least a couple! Let’s get into it. As always, you can click on the titles to find more info on each book.

9457747

The first book on my TBR for January is actually one that I am already about halfway through and plan to finish today. Unless it Moves the Human Heart is a short book by graduate school professor Roger Rosenblatt. It it a memoir of sorts covering the people in one of his writing classes, the conversations they had, and the writing they did. I absolutely love it so far, and have underlined like half of the book. This book was a gift from my roommate and best friend, and I love it.

25526296

This is another book on the shorter side. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire is a fantasy novel that was published in April of 2016. From my understanding, it is about a school for children who have been to fantastical worlds, such as through the wardrobe or the looking glass. I actually saw this book on someone’s most disappointing reads of 2016, but it looked very interesting to me, and like a nice and short fantasy read.

28503839

The next book I plan on reading in January is The Mortifications by Derek Palacio. This is a book I saw Emma from EmmmaBooks talking about in this video. This is a historical fiction novel about a Cuban family who emigrates to America during the Mariel Boatlift. This was a late 2016 release that I am very excited about, as I adore Latin American literature.

13503109

In the same sort of vain, we’ve got This Is How You Lose Her, which is a collection of short stories by Junot Diaz following a Dominican American named Yunior. We actually read and analyzed the title story “This is How You Lose Her” in my creative writing course last semester, and I really enjoyed it, so when I saw this collection floating around the internet I had to add it to my TBR. Junot Diaz is also the author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, which I’ve heard AMAZING things about and can’t wait to pick up.

126381

And finally, the last book I would love to read this month before going back to school, Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. As you might know, I read Americanah this past year and it became one of my most favorite books of all time. I adored Adichie’s writing style, and I haven’t had the chance to read any of her other work yet. I hope to be able to get to this one before the next semester starts up.

And there you have it! The five books I would love to be able to read before the second semester of my sophomore year begins. Let me know what you plan to read this month in the comments.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-07-11-am

4 thoughts on “My (Ambitious) January TBR!

  1. Oh man! I was considering to read Purple Hibiscus this month too. I’m between books at the moment and am indecisive about what to read next so I might just pick up that one. Hope you like Every Heart a Doorway. It’s a quick read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

