T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: Polarizing Books!

It’s time for another installment of Top 5 Wednesday! I am loving doing these so far. If you would like more information on this project, you can click here to be taken to the Goodreads group page. Essentially, there is a new topic every single Wednesday to post your top 5 of.

This week’s topic is:

January 18th: Favorite Polarizing Books
–These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.

I actually sorted these from least favorite to most favorite, so here we go!

#5 F Scott Fitzgerald’s Body of Work

4671414iao3jgzl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Oh, F. Scott. Probably one of the most capital-P Problematic authors I’ve had the opportunity to read about. I’ve done a tone of research about Scott, let me tell you. He was a drunk and an abuser and an all-around really bad guy. However, I love this really bad guy’s books. Tons of people don’t see the draw of Gatsby, but I have never been one of those people. And after reading Tender is the Night for an AP class, it was solidified: I adore Scott Fitzgerald’s writing. Tender is one of my favorite books of all time.

#4 Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love

19501

When I was researching books for this list and I stumbled upon this one, I was really sad. I LOVED Eat, Pray, Love. I adored it. I don’t like chick lit or romance lit at all, but Liz’s three-country journey in order to find her true self just resonated with me. I ate it up, no pun intended. I know this will be a book I return to in different times in my life.

#3 Mark Twain’s Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer

brehmhfcoverts

Since I’ve become an English major, I’ve discovered there are majors who love Mark Twain, and majors who just don’t. I am in the former category. I find Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer hilarious and poignant and nothing will ever change that. I would willingly do multiple reports on Mark Twain’s brilliance.

#2 JD Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye

5107

This another book that people either get or they just don’t. I am, once again, one of the former. I adored Catcher, I adore anything like Catcher, and I will continue to seek out books that are compared to Catcher. I’m so happy I read this book at such a young age so that it can stick with me throughout my whole life.

#1 John Green’s Looking for Alaska

99561

This is literally my #1 favorite book of all time. I read it in the 5th grade. It is the book that taught me about what I wanted to be. It is the first book that made me realize I wanted to write. I fell in love with reading and writing when I read Alaska. John Green and this book will always have a huge chunk of my heart devoted to them. I constantly see book bloggers/tubers calling this book “overrated” and I just have to disagree. This book is my childhood.

Alright, that’s about it! Let me know in the comments which books you love that all your friends hate.

Thanks for reading,

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-07-11-am

 

 

 

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Polarizing Books!

  1. I’m one of those majors who don’t like Mark Twain. Though, I should probably give his books another go to see if my opinion is the same.
    Didn’t know Fitzgerald was abusive. I learned something new there. But I really like how he wrote Great Gatsby. That’s the writing style I like. I’ll have to read another of his books to see if I really like him as an author.
    And that is sad about Eat Pray Love. I didn’t realize so many people didn’t like it until I reread it couple years ago. It’s one of my favorite books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

