TBR · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday + A Little Life Update

Hi everyone! I’m coming at you with a different Wednesday meme this week called WWW Wednesday. This one is hosted by Sam Taking On A World Of WordsI’m doing this one instead of Top 5 Wednesday because I have just been so busy this week getting into school. For this tag, you simply answer these three “W” questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

I thought this would be a great little tag to do this week, because I can also use it to update you all on my life and what I’ve been doing since I started school!

What are you currently reading?

23437156

I am currently reading the much-talked about Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Yes, this is a YA book. Yes, this is a fantasy book. No, I don’t know what has come over me. But I am OBSESSED. I picked this up on a whim because it was supposed to have this racially diverse cast of misfit criminal characters and it was supposed to have gay stuff and the main guy was supposed to be amazing and let me tell you guys, it is all of that and more. I love this book. I got it at the library last weekend and I’ve been reading it every single second I am not reading for class. I’m actually on page 286/465 at the time of writing this and I would loooooove to get some done tonight after I finish my reading for class! This book of course has a sequel as well and three other books that take place in the same universe so, I’m a little worried about my life now. I was on like page 3 of this book and completely hooked y’all. It’s a problem.

What did you recently finish reading?

30279514

I just posted a review for Dreadnought by April Daniels yesterday, which was also it’s release date. I had a digital ARC and I gave it three stars. You can click on the title and go read my full review of it. It’s about a lesbian, transgender superhero! It’s definitely a fun and important read for teens and I’m so glad I got the opportunity to talk about it on my blog.

What do you think you’ll read next?

30358505

Oh boy. Ok. So what I have next up for the moment I finish Six of Crows is a short story collection called The Refugees by Viet Thanh Nguyen which I received an advanced copy of. Its release date is February 7, so I need to get this one read and reviewed in the next week! I have been reading lots of short stories lately for my Fiction Writing class and my Literary Studies class as well, so I’m excited to dive into this one. I also adore fiction about immigration, and haven’t read a lot of it about immigration from Asian countries. I’m very excited for this.

 

25014114I also picked up a copy of the amazing and talented and adorable Adam Silvera‘s History is All You Left Me from the library this past weekend, which was amazing since it had literally come out the day before I went. In case you don’t know, this is a story about gay kids and love and loss and mental illness and it’s supposed to be horrifically sad and heartbreakingly beautiful. Maybe I’ll be able to finish Six of Crows, read and finish The Refugees, and start History all this weekend… Ok, I know. I’m being a little bit ambitious. I can’t help it, I love books!

I actually don’t have class on Fridays this semester, but it’s my reading day, and not reading for fun, but for class. I have chapters to read from Making Shapely Fiction by Jerome Stern, as well as short stories by Denis Johnson, Annie Proulx, Margaret Atwood, and Alice Walker! So that’s what I will be spending my Friday in the library doing.

Thursday night I have an English club meeting where we will be discussing different events we’re going to have throughout the semester. Next week there will be three potential new creative writing professors on campus doing readings which I am very excited to attend, since whoever is hired I will probably be working very closely with for my major!

Thanks for reading this far if you did. I have to go do some reading for class now, but I wanted to do a Wednesday update for you all.

Thanks for reading, as always,

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-10-07-11-am

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday + A Little Life Update

Leave a comment